Copiague Announces Class of 2013 Top Ten

Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School has announced the top 10 students of the Class of 2013. Leading their class are valedictorian Robert Gioia and salutatorian John Romano.

“These students have consistently exhibited outstanding academic performances throughout their educational careers, and being in the top 10 is a culmination of all their hard work and dedication,” said Principal Jeanette Altruda. “Congratulations to them for the examples of excellence they bring to our school and our community.”

With a weighted average of 101.577, Robert Gioia ranks first in his class. Throughout his career at the high school he has excelled academically, taking seven Advanced Placement courses including economics, calculus and physics, earning him the distinction of being named an AP Scholar with Honor by the College Board. Robert has been a member of the varsity wrestling team and is a current member of the Art Club and National Honor Society. Additionally, he volunteers his time as an after-school tutor and assistant coach for the middle school wrestling team. This fall, Robert will major in video game design.

John Romano, with a weighted grade point average of 101.054, has earned the distinction of being named salutatorian of the Class of 2013. Having taken 11 AP courses, including world history, economics and chemistry, the College Board has recognized John as an AP Scholar with Distinction. Through his years at the high school, John has shown interest in the arts as a member of the award-winning marching band and the Madrigal Choir and as an actor in each of the past four spring musicals. John is also a member of the Key Club and National Honor Society and president of the Drama Club. He plans to major in engineering.
Congratulations to the Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School Class of 2013 Top 10:

Robert Gioia, Valedictorian
John Romano, Salutatorian
Stwart Pena, Third
Tshay Williams, Fourth
Lizbelle Taveras, Fifth
Kayla Rosario, Sixth
Aleksandra Czarnecka, Seventh
Grace Hall, Eighth
Janice Mayard, Ninth
Emily Clark, Tenth