March 28 BOE Meeting Highlights


The Long Beach Public Schools honored students representing each of the district’s buildings during the March 28 Board of Education Meeting. Artists, musicians and writers were presented with certificates and applause for their recent achievements.

High School students attained numerous Regional Scholastic Art Awards for their photography, mixed media, drawing and illustration, portfolio and painting work. Silver Key distinctions were earned by Jose Ac Rivas, Daniella Bruzzone, Lindsey Del Rio, Jaclyn Javakian, Jenna Kim, Isabel Kreutzberg, Jessie Page, Morgan Polete and Jhana Prue. Honorable mentions were achieved by Daniella Bruzzone, Courtney Carpentieri, Hayley Fallon, Jaclyn Javakian, Jaclyn Keon, Jillian Lerner, Charles Mandell, Jess McCabe, Arielle Nason, Joseph Pimentel and Carmen Sabedra. 
Grace Rosenberg and Jaclyn Javakian were honored for their success in the Advanced Visions art competition. Grace, along with Danielle Bruzzone, Carmen Sabedra and Noelle Soren, also had work featured in the Art League of Long Island AP Exhibit.

All County artists throughout the district were recognized. Congratulations to Stella Ambroise, Aniley Arreola, Benjamin Barnett, Daniel Ruben Bueno Ramos, Jacqueline Ching, Audrey Cozine, Leyla Dibra, Summer Ejnes, Orquidia Garcia Cuevas, Catalina Goni, Sarah Gusler, Jenna Kim, Abigail King, Emily King, Jillian Lerner, Sophia Lopez, Anthony Lopez-Heredia, Dante Lyons, Winona MacPhee, Christopher Mitchell, Maya Molik, Arielle Nason, Tyler Parker, Angelina Piccolino, Jacob Piechocniski, Madison Rivera, Carmen Sabedra, Keiji Sato, Brody Shapiro, Chloe Silverberg, Sienna Silvia, Jasmine Soriano, Ryan Tuffy, Alexey Tutkevich, Gabriela Umanzor and Rachelle Vidallon.

Students earned All County honors in music as well. Accolades went to Samuel Adler, John Aebly, Maya Arengo, Sophiana Arroyo, Maryn Ascher, Charles Ashmead, Kenneth Bailing, Sara Biancamano, Zoe Biern, Jaden Bloom, Liora Brown, Kyra Brunick-Davis, Alejandro Celis, Kira Centenni, Alec Chasin, Leah Clutter, Jordan Collinson, Winter Collinson, Alanna Damiani, Isabelle DePalma, Aiden DeRupo, Melinda DeSantis, CaitlinDevine, Dylan Edelman, Charlotte Free, Tabitha Freeny, LiLin Garfinkel, Eva Gargiulo, Emma Goorland, Jessica Greenblatt, Gerrin Hagen, Mary Hagen, Layla Hakimzadeh, Sarah Heller, Joseph Henry, Sienna Hornberger, Hannah Hummel, David Jespersen, Joshua Kapilian, Jon Wyatt Katzen, Brigid Kelly, Ariel Keynan, William Lithgow, Jacob LoCascio, Mia Mangels, Luke Morita, Ariel Nachman, Lucinda Nash, David Newman, Aneisa Nicholas, James O'Connor, Madeline O'Connor, Matthew O'Connor, Shea O'Hara, Lucia Petty, Harrison Phillips, Jacob Piechocniski, Alexander Ramirez, Summer Reed, Noah Robinson, Amanda Roman, Chandler Rosenzweig, Matthias Roth, Reilly Sanfilippo, Avery Schab, Danielle Shokrian, Marielle Small, Vanessa Solis, Aryelle Teran, Theo Turbek, Ann Wachs and Alvin Wright.

Musicians also earned recognition for their participation in Long Island String Festival Association concerts. Maya Arengo, Jordan Collinson, Alanna Damiani, Sophia Elenson, LiLin Garfinkel, Mary Hagen, Wyatt Katzen, Joshua Kapilian, Luke Morita and Christopher Schnatz achieved this honor. 
A special employee recognition was presented to Veronica Dale, while student Anthony Doall received an Eagle Court of Honor recognition. Long Beach Tide staff members Uma Arengo, Tyler Collinson, Bianca Nauth, Ava O’Connor, Abby Quigley, Freddy Ramon, Katherine Roll, Jack Saggio and Jaylyn Umana were commended for receiving Best Page One layout at Adelphi University’s Press Day event. Uma additionally earned an honorable mention for her arts review piece.