Board of Education Welcomes New Members, Elects Officers


The Long Beach School District’s two newly elected Board of Education members, Sam Pinto and Tina Posterli, were sworn in at the July 2 reorganization meeting. They officially began their three-year terms and the Board unanimously elected Dr. Dennis Ryan and Maureen Vrona to serve as president and vice president, respectively. Several administrators and staff members were also appointed and Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations (also District Clerk Pro Tem, Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Purchasing Agent) Michael DeVito, District Clerk Carole Butler and Treasurer Joan Ramirez took oaths of office.