LB inducts new NHS members

Long Beach High School formally inducted 111 10th- and 11th-graders into the National Honor Society’s Arista Chapter on April 10. NHS members demonstrate the organization’s four key values of service, scholarship, leadership and character.

After the inductees entered the auditorium and stood for the Pledge of Allegiance, led by NHS officer William Klain, NHS adviser Jeanne O’Shea welcomed guests and shared opening remarks. NHS President Morgan O’Brien spoke on behalf of her peers and Board of Education President Stewart Mininsky and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Jennifer Gallagher both addressed the honorees and audience. 

Samantha Reichert, another of the six NHS student officers, described the organization’s principles and summarized the events that the society has organized in the district and community. Four candles were placed before the group, representative of the NHS standards as the new inductees as they were called up to the stage. NHS officers Richard Lilly, Leo Stanger, William Klain and Stella Smith lit the leadership, character, service and scholarship candles, respectively. 

The NHS annually recognizes a role model with the honorary membership distinction. Long Beach High School English teacher Toni Weiss was selected as this year’s recipient. 

Musical performances by the high school’s Soundwaves and Chamber Orchestra ensembles provided entertainment throughout the event. As the ceremony concluded, Principal Jeffrey Myers led the National Honor Society Pledge and acknowledged the significance of the members’ achievements.