The Long Beach Public Schools celebrated another excellent season in athletics during Spring Sports Awards Night, held on June 7. Athletes received awards both individually and with their teams in honor of their efforts, skills, sportsmanship and dedication on and off the field.

The following teams were acknowledged for a season of good sportsmanship and effort: Girls badminton, baseball, boys golf, girls golf, boys lacrosse, girls lacrosse, softball, boys tennis, boys track and girls track. The Challenger sports teams for life skills students received accolades as well.

Coaches introduced their players and praised them for a successful season. The varsity girls lacrosse team and varsity girls softball were also recognized for becoming Nassau County Finalists.

Numerous special plaques were presented to students who demonstrated good character, service to others, team spirit, academic excellence, leadership and passion for athletics. These awards were as follows:

•    Distinguished Athlete Award: Luc Esformes, Tonianne Larson, Shane Morris and Kristen Romano
•    National Scholar Athlete Award: Margaret Aroesty, Sam Brown, Kelly DiResto, Matthew Maquet and Megan Sofield
•    Sam Santay and Irv Gold Memorial Award: Rachel Ray
•    Mark Fischgrund Memorial Award: Isabella Atrachji
•    Woody David Award: Matthew Cannon, Lindsay Kranitz, Connor Lent, Peter McQuade and Ruany Soca
•    Corey Lovrich Memorial Award: Katie Whelan
•    Harvey Green Memorial Award: Isabella DeFrancesco, Dakota Ejnes, Caroline Farrell, Joseph Giorlando, Ryan Levine, Pablo Martinez, Jonathan Rovitz, Thomas Rutherig, Natalie Swegler, Chrystal Posada and Gregg Wildstein
•    Lorraine Vitale Memorial Award: Brandon Devivio, Dara Hoff, Savannah Kile, Margaret O’Malley-Rebovich and Charles Spada
•    Stanley Galowin Award: Finian Ashmead, Samantha Chase, Jack Thurston and Brian Thurston
•    Kiwanis Club Award: Margaret Aroesty and Sam Brown
•    Neil Eskanazi Memorial Award: Justin Kolodny
•    Jay Lake Memorial Award: Kevin Dunn
•    Arthur Hurst Memorial Award: Amanda Angst, Jessica Marcote, Mary-Elizabeth McCourt and Jorge Romero
•    Sherman Brown Memorial Award: Jacori Teemer and Sarah Reznick
•    LBHS Athletic Department Manager of the Year: Rachel Hopper, Jacob Lerner and Jack Thurston
•    Career Achievement Award: Gabrielle Ayzenberg, Tyreek Bromley and Siobhan Rafferty
•    Brian Cohen Memorial Award: Tyrese Byron
•    Tom Deluca Memorial Award: Kristen Abbot, T.J. Farrell and Kenneth Ferrara
•    Nora Bellsey Spirit Award: Phoebe Keane