LB Spring Sports Awards

The Long Beach Public Schools celebrated another excellent season in athletics during Spring Sports Awards Night, held on June 8. Athletes received awards both individually and with their teams in honor of their efforts, skills, sportsmanship and dedication on and off the field.

The following teams were acknowledged for a season of good sportsmanship and effort: Girls badminton, baseball, boys golf, girls golf, boys lacrosse, girls lacrosse, softball, boys tennis, boys track and girls track. The Challenger sports teams for life skills students received accolades as well.

The boys golf, girls golf, girls lacrosse, softball, boys tennis, boys spring track and girls spring track teams were recognized as Scholar/Athlete Teams by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association for maintaining Grade Point Averages of 90 percent or higher.

Numerous special plaques were presented to students who have demonstrated good character, service to others, team spirit, academic excellence, leadership and passion for athletics. These awards are as follows:
•    Distinguished Athlete Award: Caitlin Breglia, Joshua Keitz
•    National Scholar Athlete Award: Paige Rogoff, Justin Weissberg
•    Mark Fischgrund Memorial Award: Haley Lynch
•    Woody David Award: Joshua Bourne, Caitlin Pyle, John Whelan, Sarah Whelan
•    Corey Lovrich Memorial Award: Kaylee Callahan
•    Harvey Green Memorial Award: Joshua Bourne, Carly Chernoff, Alexandra McLoughlin, Kaitlyn Rivera
•    Lorraine Vitale Memorial Award: Jordan Barto, Michael Bulik, Kathryn Mannle, Neil Opena, Thomas Ryan
•    Stanley Galowin Award: Kristen Koff, Michael McCarthy, Micah Navera, Tanner Owens, Kirsthie Rodriguez
•    Kiwanis Club Award: Max Guttuso, Morgan Harrington
•    Neil Eskanazi Memorial Award: Justin Weissberg
•    Jay Lake Memorial Award: Marc Paez
•    Arthur Hurst Memorial Award: Zachary Cuddihy, David Miller
•    Sherman Brown Memorial Award: Margaret Aroesty, Sam Brown, Shane Morris
•    LBHS Athletic Department Manager of the Year: Brittany Waller
•    Charles Polin Memorial Award: Jeffery Galeas Mejia, Cristian Prieto-Hanlon
•    Career Achievement Award: Meghan Maquet, Seamus McDonagh
•    Brian Cohen Memorial Award: Andrew Garcia
•    Tom Deluca Memorial Award: Devin McHale, Chelsea Rotando
•    Nora Bellsey Spirit Award: Ivanna Mangiafreno

Additionally, Wrestling Coach Ray Adams received the Sam Santay & Irv Gold Memorial Award for outstanding coaching success in 2016.